If you can no longer attend an event, you can cancel your RSVP from the event page where you signed up. Simply click the "Attending" button and your RSVP will be removed.
There's no need to contact the host. Your spot will be released automatically so another attendee will have a chance to join.
Cancellations for paid events are subject to the paid events pilot cancellation and refund policy.