You can follow anyone you like on Duolingo*. You can also invite friends to join. When you follow someone, they will show up on your Friends List, and you can compare your all time XP. On the web, you can view your Friends List on the homepage.
NOTE: This Friends List is different from your Leaderboard where you compete with Duolingo learners in a weekly XP competition. You can learn more about Leaderboards here.
Your friend leaderboard will only display all-time XP. The highest scoring friends will be on top. This list is scrollable, so if you don't see the person you are looking for, try scrolling down while your mouse is on the leaderboard.
How to Find/Invite Friends?
At the bottom of the Friends List, there are a few buttons. You can find your Facebook friends by clicking on "Find more friends on Facebook." You can also send someone an invite via email by clicking on "Send invite."
If your friend already uses Duolingo and you know their username or account email address, you can search for them within Duolingo.
How to Follow/Unfollow friends?
You can also follow people you like on Duolingo. When you land on their profile page, click the "Follow" button to add them to your Friend List. They do not have to accept your request. They can also follow you back if they want to. If they block you, you can no longer add, follow or contact them. The maximum number of followers is currently 1000. You will not be able to follow more than 1000 users.
To Unfollow a friend, tap on the "Following" button and that will unfollow the user.
NOTE: If you cannot follow others, your account may be inactive. Please complete a lesson. Please also check that your email is verified.
How do I block someone?
To block someone via Desktop web, follow these instructions:
- Visit their profile
- Click on the ... to the right of their picture
- Click on "Block <username>"
To block someone via Android and iOS app, follow these instructions:
- Tap on the user's profile
- Scroll to the bottom, tap "Block User"
- Confirm by tapping 'Block'
NOTE: You can unblock a user by tapping 'Unblock user'
- You will not be able to follow more than 1000 users. The maximum is 1000.
- You cannot follow age-restricted users (learners <13 years).
- You cannot follow a learner if they have their profile set to Private.
- If you are inactive, you won't be able to follow others. Complete a lesson, and you're all set!