How do I cancel my Duolingo Plus subscription?

You can cancel your Duolingo Plus subscription at anytime.

Google Play Store (Android):

The Google Play Store allows Android users to make payments for recurring charges or subscriptions, including Duolingo Plus. The Google Play Store charges your specified payment method automatically on the same date each month.

To cancel your Duolingo Plus subscription, login to Subscriptions and Services. Find the subscription you would like to cancel and select “manage” and then select “cancel subscription.”

Please note that subscription cancellations cannot be undone, though you can always re-subscribe in the future. More updated information can be found on Google Payments' own page.

iTunes App Store (iOS/iPhone/iPad):

Like the Google Play Store, the iTunes App Store allows iOS users to make payments for recurring charges or subscriptions, including Duolingo Plus. The iTunes App Store charges your specified payment method automatically on the same date each month.

To cancel your Duolingo Plus subscription on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch:

  1. Go to Settings > [your name] > iTunes & App Store.
  2. Tap your Apple ID at the top of the screen.
  3. Tap View Apple ID. You might need to sign in or use Touch ID.
  4. Tap “Subscriptions” and select the subscription you would like to cancel.
  5. Select “Cancel Subscription” and then “confirm.”

After your current period ends, iTunes will no longer bill you for that subscription. Please note that subscription cancellations cannot be undone, though you can always re-subscribe in the future. More updated information about managing your iOS subscriptions are available on Apple's website.    

Web:

1. Sign into your Duolingo account via web browser (like Chrome)
2. Click your username in the top-right corner, and choose 'Settings'
3. Select 'Duolingo Plus'
4. Select 'Cancel Subscription' and confirm

You will no longer be billed automatically once you cancel your subscription. You can reactivate your subscription anytime.

 

Note:

After cancelling your subscription, you will be able to use Duolingo Plus for the remaining days that you have already paid for. When your subscription expires, it will not be renewed. You can opt back in at any time. Canceling your subscription will not retroactively refund subscription payments, and previously charged subscription fees cannot be prorated based on cancellation date. Deleting the app and/or your account does not cancel your subscription, except if you originally subscribed on web. If you have any issues with your subscription, please submit a bug report and select the option "Purchase Issue" from the drop-down (please note that we cannot access the Google Play store and iOS App store, nor resolve issues you are experiencing with those services).